ASEAN – Association of South-East Asian Nations

The Association of South-East Asian NationsASEAN – is an economic and political organisation of 10 countries located in South-East Asia:

Political Map of South East Asia

ASEAN flagTogether they span about 4,46 million km² and gather more that 600 million people. They gradually came together to improve common political and economic ties and form a stronger political body as well as an more integrated and larger market.

The ASEAN six majors refers to the six biggest economies of ASEAN in terms of Gross Domestic Product, which are several times larger that the four others:

  • Seal of ASEANIndonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

ASEAN Economic Community

The ASEAN Economic CommunityAEC – is a project of economic integration between the ten ASEAN countries to reach the following objectives by 2015:

  • single market and production base
  • highly competitive economic region
  • region of equitable economic development
  • region fully integrated into the global economy

ASEAN plus three

The term ASEAN plus threeASEAN+3 – refers to the will of East Asian countries to develop further political and economic ties between ASEAN nations and:

  • China
  • Japan
  • South Korea

Various other meetings with regional and global partners have been coined with other terminology to facilitate discussions with India, Australia, New Zealand, Europe, Russia and the US.

ASEAN in the news


Leave a Reply